Blood and Tears

Droplets

of blood and tears

red and round

are on the ground

all around my feet.

That’s me lying there

cold out on the street.

An explosion of sorts

laid me here so low,

a devastating blow

smashing me to smithereens.

No-one noticed, no-one saw

not even me, this fatal flaw

in you –

the one where everything you do

has a spiteful end in mind

for you are not kind

when you are not the star –

yet here I am and here we are

still bound by I know not what

and yet it keeps me here

in this suspended state of love.

the punishment of loving you

is this.

A shattering.

Leave a Reply

